Anti Essays offers essay examples to help students with their essay writing.

Sign Up

5 Stages of Grief Essay

  • Submitted by: pipercarrion
  • on August 7, 2015
  • Category: Psychology
  • Length: 1,475 words

Open Document

Below is an essay on "5 Stages of Grief" from Anti Essays, your source for research papers, essays, and term paper examples.

What are the stages of grief?

The 5 stages of grief: denial, anger, bargaining, depression and acceptance is the route that travels to heal the loss of a loved one, according to Elisabeth Kubler-Ross ".

The 5 stages of grief as the psychiatrist Elisabeth Kubler-Ross * is one of the most popular descriptions known about it. This says that the suffering will not go through them in a prescribed order but rather a framework that allows us to initiate a learning process where finally understand that it is possible to live with this loss and continue in a reality in which this family and not You will be. These five stages of grief were first proposed by Kubler-Ross in her 1969 book "On Death and Dying" which, based on his work with terminally ill patients, this author stated that after the death of a process initiated by which people deal with this loss.

Although as mentioned above, these steps do not happen in order but come and go from them to finally accept death as an inevitable fact of life, the key to these steps is to understand how the grieving process occurs and how stage you are. Then we will inform you about each of these phases.


When a person learns the terminal illness or death of a loved one, your first reaction is to deny the reality of this devastating news.

Denial is the conscious or unconscious of the facts or the reality of the situation rejection. This defense mechanism seeks to cushion the shock produced by the new reality for us just let the pain that we are prepared to support. This is a temporary response that paralyzes us and makes us hide from the facts. The phrase that could sum up the essence of this stage is "This I can not be happening to me."

In this first moment, the world loses meaning and overwhelms us. We wonder how we can move forward. We're not denying that death or loss have occurred but that invades us a sense of disbelief that the person we love will not see anymore....

Show More


MLA Citation

"5 Stages of Grief". Anti Essays. 17 Dec. 2018


APA Citation

5 Stages of Grief. Anti Essays. Retrieved December 17, 2018, from the World Wide Web: http://parimatch-stavka7.com/free-essays/5-Stages-Of-Grief-759524.html

Fatih Yasin | Advances on P2P, Parallel, Grid, Cloud and Internet Computing: Proceedings of the 11th International Conference on P2P, Parallel, Grid, Cloud and ... Engineering and Communications Technologies) | 911 & Porsche World - January 2019